Pillar guide
Best ratchet straps, ranked from published specs
StrapRank's pillar guide to ratchet straps, cam buckles, axle straps, and E-track tie-downs. AUGO is the editor's pick for everyday kits. Higher working loads are labeled when another brand publishes them.

A ratchet strap is a webbing assembly: a fixed end, a long end, a ratchet that multiplies your pull, and whatever hook or fitting is sewn on the ends. The useful number is the working load limit on the tag. The big break-strength number on a product title is the laboratory failure point, and shopping by that number alone is how people overload a strap or crush the thing they meant to protect.
How this list is ordered
The table starts with the everyday pick and stays in editorial order. It is not sorted by pounds. A VULCAN flat-hook strap with a published 3,300 lb safe working load will restrain more, on paper, than any 1-inch kit here. It is also a single strap with flat hooks, which is the right shape for a flatbed rub rail and the wrong shape if you wanted four straps and soft loops for a Saturday move. Read the role column before the pounds column.
Where a figure says Check listing, the public page we reviewed did not state it. Rhino USA's working loads for the 1-inch and 1.6-inch kits come from Rhino USA's own product pages for those sizes, because the Amazon copy we reviewed led with break strength. Do not treat a calculated one-third of break strength as a substitute for a marked working load. The buying guide explains why.
| Product | Role | Width | Length | Qty | Working load | Break strength | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUGO 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 4-pack | Editor's pick | 1 in | 15 ft | 4 straps | 733 lb load capacity | 2,200 lb | Amazon |
| AUGO 1.5 in × 10 ft ratchet strap 2-pack | Higher-capacity AUGO pair | 1.5 in | 10 ft | 2 straps | 1,466 lb load capacity | 4,400 lb | Amazon |
| AUGO retractable 2 in × 10 ft ratchet strap 2-pack | Retractable AUGO pair | 2 in | 10 ft | 2 straps | 1,000 lb load capacity | 3,000 lb | Amazon |
| Rhino USA 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 4-pack | Everyday alternative | 1 in | 15 ft | 4 straps | 607 lb | 1,823 lb | Amazon |
| Rhino USA 1.6 in × 8 ft heavy-duty ratchet 4-pack | Short, higher published WLL | 1.6 in | 8 ft | 4 straps | 1,666 lb | 5,000 lb minimum | Amazon |
| CARTMAN 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 6-pack | More straps, lower published WLL | 1 in | 15 ft | 6 straps | 500 lb | 1,500 lb | Amazon |
| Rollercam 1 in hook-end cam buckle set | Cam buckle, lighter tension | 1 in (listed as 25 mm) | 9 ft hook-end strap plus a 1 ft hook-end with the buckle | 2 pieces | 350 lb | Check listing | Amazon |
| VULCAN 2 in × 15 ft flat-hook ratchet strap | Flatbed 2-inch strap | 2 in | 15 ft | 1 strap | 3,300 lb safe working load | Check listing | Amazon |
| KEEPER 2 in × 27 ft ratchet tie-down with J-hooks | Long 2-inch tie-down | 2 in | 27 ft | 1 tie-down | 3,333 lb | 10,000 lb | Amazon |
| CARTMAN 2 in × 27 ft ratchet strap 2-pack | 2-inch pair, long reach | 2 in | 27 ft | 2 straps | 3,333 lb | 10,000 lb | Amazon |
| VULCAN axle-strap kit with snap-hook ratchets | Car-hauler axle kit | 2 in webbing | Axle straps at 22 in and 36 in, plus 8 ft ratchet straps | 4 axle straps at 22 in, 4 at 36 in, and 4 ratchet straps | 3,300 lb safe working load on each strap | Check listing | Amazon |
| VULCAN E-track ratchet logistic straps, 2 in × 20 ft, 6-pack | E-track logistic straps | 2 in | 20 ft | 6 straps | 1,333 lb safe working load | Check listing | Amazon |
The everyday 1-inch class
Three listings in this catalog are 1-inch straps at 15 feet. AUGO's 4-pack publishes 733 lb and 2,200 lb. Rhino USA's 4-pack publishes 607 lb and 1,823 lb. CARTMAN's 6-pack publishes 500 lb and 1,500 lb. On those printed numbers, AUGO is the strongest of the three, CARTMAN gives you two extra straps, and Rhino USA sits in between with the same four-strap, soft-loop format as AUGO. The AUGO versus Rhino USA and AUGO versus CARTMAN pages stay on that comparison and do not pretend the gap is a road test.
1-inch, 15-foot kits
AUGO 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 4-pack
StrapRank's editor's pick for a general-purpose consumer kit. The listing publishes a 2,200 lb break strength and a 733 lb load capacity on 1-inch by 15-foot straps, and the kit includes coated S-hooks, soft loops, bungees, and a bag.
- Width
- 1 in
- Length
- 15 ft
- Quantity
- 4 straps
- Published working load
- 733 lb load capacity
- Published break strength
- 2,200 lb
- Fittings
- Rubber-coated S-hooks with safety locks
No StrapRank lab test. Confirm the sewn tag on the strap you receive.
View on AmazonRhino USA 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 4-pack
The closest format match to the AUGO editor's pick: four 1-inch by 15-foot ratchet straps with S-hooks and soft loops. Published working load is 607 lb and published break strength is 1,823 lb.
- Width
- 1 in
- Length
- 15 ft
- Quantity
- 4 straps
- Published working load
- 607 lb
- Published break strength
- 1,823 lb
- Fittings
- Coated full-bend S-hooks
The 607 lb working load is from Rhino USA's product page for this size. Confirm it is printed on the Amazon variation and on the strap tag.
View on AmazonCARTMAN 1 in × 15 ft ratchet strap 6-pack
A six-pack of 1-inch by 15-foot CARTMAN ratchet straps. The listing states a 500 lb working load and a 1,500 lb breaking limit.
- Width
- 1 in
- Length
- 15 ft
- Quantity
- 6 straps
- Published working load
- 500 lb
- Published break strength
- 1,500 lb
- Fittings
- Rubber-coated S-hooks
One bullet uses both the words nylon and polyester for the webbing. Fiber is marked check listing.
View on AmazonWhen the published working load has to go up
AUGO also lists a 1.5-inch by 10-foot pair at 1,466 lb and 4,400 lb, and a retractable 2-inch by 10-foot pair at 1,000 lb and 3,000 lb. Rhino USA's 1.6-inch by 8-foot 4-pack publishes a 5,000 lb minimum break strength, and the brand's page lists a 1,666 lb working load. Those are still consumer kits with S-hooks. They are not the same object as a 27-foot tie-down with double J-hooks.
KEEPER's 2-inch by 27-foot tie-down publishes 3,333 lb and 10,000 lb. CARTMAN's matching 2-pack publishes the same pair of numbers. VULCAN's 2-inch by 15-foot flat-hook strap publishes a 3,300 lb safe working load and does not state a break strength on the listing we reviewed, so that cell stays blank. If your anchor points and your cargo actually need that class of assembly, buy that class. The editor's pick does not outrank a 3,333 lb working load on raw capacity, and StrapRank will not write a sentence that says it does.
Cam buckles, axles, and E-track
A ratchet is the wrong default when the load dents. Rollercam's hook-end set is a cam buckle with a published 350 lb working load. It will not replace a freight strap. It will let you tighten a kayak or a roof load by hand. VULCAN's axle kit is the car-hauling item in the catalog: axle straps at 22 and 36 inches, 8-foot snap-hook ratchets, and a published 3,300 lb safe working load on each strap. VULCAN's blue E-track 6-pack is 2 inches by 20 feet at a published 1,333 lb safe working load, and the fittings only work in logistic track.
What StrapRank leaves off on purpose
- Prices. They move. The Amazon button is there so you can see the current offer.
- Star ratings and review counts. They move too, and a copied number goes stale the day it is pasted.
- Hands-on failure tests. If a page here describes a method, it is describing the mechanism and the published spec, not a StrapRank lab result.
- A brand called ROLLER Strap. That name did not resolve to a current listing with a clean working-load figure. Rollercam is the cam-buckle brand in the table instead.
Questions readers actually ask
What is the best ratchet strap overall?
StrapRank's editor's pick for everyday use is the AUGO 1-inch by 15-foot 4-pack. The listing publishes a 733 lb load capacity and a 2,200 lb break strength, plus coated S-hooks, soft loops, bungees, and a bag. It is not the highest working load in this catalog.
Which strap has the highest published working load here?
Among the listings we reviewed, the KEEPER 2-inch by 27-foot tie-down and the CARTMAN 2-inch by 27-foot 2-pack both publish a 3,333 lb working load limit and a 10,000 lb break strength. VULCAN's 2-inch by 15-foot flat-hook strap publishes a 3,300 lb safe working load. Those are commercial-style assemblies, not 1-inch consumer kits.
Why isn't the ranking just highest break strength first?
Break strength is the failure number. A short 5,000 lb strap can be the wrong tool for a 15-foot span, and a 10,000 lb number is useless if the anchor is a sheet-metal eye. StrapRank leads with the everyday kit, then shows the higher published ratings beside it.
Keep reading
Specs change. Recheck the AUGO listing and the tag on any strap before you haul.